The SMPTE Announces 2013 Honorees and Award Winners and Recognizes Thomas A. Scott

October 10 2013, 13:01

TomScottTheRightStuffSMPTEWebThe Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE), an organization devoted to motion-imaging standards and education for the communications, media, entertainment, and technology industries, revealed the outstanding industry members who will be recognized Thursday, October 24, at the SMPTE 2013 Honors & Awards Ceremony.

The Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal recognizes outstanding contributions in the design and development of new and improved methods and/or apparatus for motion picture sound, including any step in the process. Thomas A. Scott will receive the 2013 award for his dedication to the art and technology of motion picture sound. Scott’s career in motion picture sound began when he joined American Zoetrope Studios to work on Apocalypse Now. Later at Dolby Laboratories and the Saul Zaentz Film Center, he worked on the sound for more than 10 feature films and received Best Sound Academy Awards (Oscars) for The Right Stuff and Amadeus. While director of engineering at Skywalker Sound, the postproduction division of LucasArts/Lucasfilm, he supervised production and deployment of the EditDroid and SoundDroid, revolutionary computer-based picture and sound editing equipment. Scott is co-founder and vice president, technology, of EDNET, providing a system of long-distance economic and high-quality audio transmission and monitoring equipment, which significantly eases postproduction logistics for production and postproduction companies, advertisers, producers, directors, and talent. Scott, a SMPTE Fellow, has held several SMPTE offices, including engineering director and standards director.

The SMPTE Honors & Awards Ceremony is being held in conjunction with the SMPTE 2013 Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, CA.

related items